Why are some team details public?
Team managers can choose whether team members’ names, photos, or any other details are shown. Each member can set their own messages, photos, and documents as private. In addition, the author of a message or a manager can change the visibility according to the team’s policy using the links next to each photo and message ("Show only to members" or "Show to everyone"). On Manager > Settings there is an option "Show new items by default only to team members" – in that case messages are visible by default only to people who are signed in. Members can still switch individual messages to be visible to everyone. The choices work the same way in all teams to avoid confusion when people use multiple teams.
By default, some information is public because, in our experience, openness is a good thing in team sports. It’s nice and easy to join an active group. And the more people we can inspire to do sports and exercise, the better!
Public messages also make things easier for members. If a player’s parents are taking kids to practice and want to quickly check event details on a phone, they don’t need to remember a password — the information is immediately available.
Did this not help? Ask our AI or support team →
More on Privacy and Data Protection
- What should I do if I forgot my password?
- How can I change my password?
- Can we hide the team’s roster from search engines?
- How do I hide contact details (phone number and email address) from everyone except the team managers?
- How do I remove my own information from a team?
- How can I remove duplicate profiles?
- How do I sign in with multiple accounts at the same time
- How do I merge the accounts I use in different teams?
- How do I protect files in Photos and docs?
- How do I restrict messages and comments to signed-in members only?
- Why do I see inappropriate ads on the page?
- Hiding or showing participants and events
- Problems signing in / wrong password or user name
- Can I sign in with my Google account?
